Zane Daigle, Sara Price are Children's Day royalty

Zane Joseph Daigle and Sara Elizabeth Price were crowned Louisiana Shrimp and Petroleum Festival Children’s Day King and Queen Sunday at American Legion Post 96 in Morgan City.

They were chosen in a random drawing held Saturday during the Royal Fun Fest held at Post 96.

They will be presented during the Louisiana Shrimp and Petroleum Festival Coronation Court on Aug. 27.

The Children’s Day king and queen will reign over the Children’s Day Activities on Sept. 4 at Lawrence Park in Morgan City. Field games begin at 9 a.m. featuring races and contests. A Children’s Day Parade will be held at 11 a.m.

They will also be presented at various events throughout the Louisiana Shrimp and Petroleum Festival being held Sept. 1-5 in downtown Morgan City.

Daigle is the 9-year-old son of Rickey and Quincy Lantier of Patterson. He has two siblings, Zoey and Zander Lantier. His grandparents are Eva Fitch, Nolan and Lisa Fitch, and Kevan and Cindy Legendre

The fourth-grader attends Hattie Watts Elementary School in Patterson. He enjoys reading, watching movies and playing video games.

Price is the 11-year-old daughter of Jason Price and Tahitia Price, both of Morgan City. Emily Price is her sister. Her grandparents are Greg and Ginger Price, and Glen and Betty Swain.

She is a sixth-grader at Holy Cross Elementary School in Morgan City. She enjoys dancing and drawing.

Chosen as alternate to the king is Isaac Wiese, son of Rebecca Concienne and Justin Orlando of Morgan City.

Alternate to the queen is Kamryn DeHart, daughter of Christine and Ferrell DeHart of Berwick.

Sponsor of the 2011 Children’s Day is the family of Marion Bergeron and the late Oliver Bergeron.

Children’s Day officials expressed thanks to Ideal Rentals for donating decorations and to American Legion Post 96 for its donation and dedication to the program.

Past Children’s Day royalty include 1973 Queen and Kin Suzanne Wasson and Casey Dozar, 1974 Queen and King Cindy Eskridge and Brian Roy, 1975 Queen and King Melanie Solar and Percy Hebert, 1976 Queen and King Julie Cortez and Mark Pennison, 1977 Queen and King Monica Billiot and Dean Grizzaffi, 1978 Queen and King Mary Helen Porth and Scott Boudreaux, 1979 Queen and King Chantelle Roy and Leslie Torgrimson, 1980 Queen and King Paula Cortez and Kevin Burt, 1981 Queen and King Holli Keller and Ryan Sanders, 1982 Queen Ginger Reeves and Jason Leonard, 1983 Queen and King Holly Cortez and Jeremy Broussard, 1984 Queen and King Casey Miller and Richard Parker, 1985 Queen and King Angela Gindelone and David Barousse, 1986 Queen and King Amanda Judice and Jamey Chellette, 1987 Queen and King Colleen Hammonds and Corey Matherne, 1988 Queen and King Ellena Arthur and Chad DuBois, and 1989 Queen and King Kassi Simoneaux and Gabe Meranto.

Past royalty also includes 1990 Queen and King Anna Marie Courville and Bill Cefalu, 1991 Queen and King Jani Meranto and Robert Balance, 1992 Queen and King Ashley Hudson and Justin Cheramie, 1993 Queen and King Megan Driskill and Shaun Sikes, 1994 Queen and King Alana Cefalu and Jacob DuBois, 1995 Queen and King Katelyn Duplantis and Dustin Levy, 1996 Queen and King Dasha Maize and Dylan Bergeron, 1997 Queen and King Karla Marie Hebert and Shal’Jaup Williams, 1998 Queen and King Caroline Harris and Christopher Fabre, 1999 Queen and King Judith Fabre and Brent “Chip” Bergeron II, 2000 Queen and King Calie Anslem and Devin Duval, 2001 Queen and King Courtney Golloher and Justin Rogers, 2002 Queen and King Amanda Anslem and Travis Glynn, 2003 Queen and King Stephanie Flenner and Austin Courville, 2004 Queen and King McKenna Aloisio and John Ibert, 2005 Queen and King Olivia Gilbert and Hunter Mayon, 2006 Queen and King Alisha Flenner and Dylan Robinson, 2007 Queen and King Bailey Grace Lejeune and Tra’Len Duhon-Dangerfield, 2008 Queen Jordyn Bellard and King George Boston Jr. 2009 Queen and King Rebekah Flenner and Scott Price, and 2010 Queen and King Dianne Ward and Nickolas Aleksines.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us