ULL, LSU players added to Biletnikoff Award Watch List

LAFAYETTE — The list of preseason accolades continues to grow for Louisiana tight end Ladarius Green.

One day after he was added to the John Mackey Award Watch List his name appeared on another prestigious award’s watch list. Green has been named to the Fred Biletnikoff Award Watch List, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club announced on Thursday.

Green is one of three Sun Belt Conference receivers - joining FIU’s T.Y. Hilton and Arkansas State’s Dwayne Frampton - and 75 total players named to the Biletnikoff Watch List.

The Biletnikoff Award is presented to the top receiver (any player who receives a thrown pass) in college football. The winner will be presented live at the Home Depot ESPN College Football Awards Show on Dec. 8 in Orlando, Fla.

Green was one of the nation’s most prolific receivers last year leading all tight ends nationally in receiving yardage (794), receiving yards-per-game (79.4) and receiving yards-per-catch (18.0), which is how he’s turned the rare trick of being nomi-nated for both the Biletnikoff and Mackey Awards.

Green enters his senior season with a plethora of preseason honors. In addition to the Mackey Watch List and Biletnikoff Award Watch List, Green is on the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) D-I FBS Tight End Trophy Watch List.

He was tabbed as a Top 5 draft eligible tight end by espn.com insider Mel Kiper, Jr. and was named a preseason All-American by BleacherReport.com (1st Team), Athlon (2nd Team), GoDaddy.com (3rd Team), Phil Steele (4th Team) and CDSdraft.com (Honorable Mention).

The Pensacola, Fla. native starts the 2011 season seventh in school history in career receiving yards (1,595), tied for fourth in career receiving touchdowns (14) and needs 26 catches to reach fifth in career receptions (currently has 98).

The Biletnikoff Award is named for former Florida State and Oakland Raider great Fred Biletnikoff and presented annually on the ESPNU College Football Awards Show. While the TQC Foundation Trustees manage the organization, they have no role in the winner’s selection. Over 100 prominent journalists, commentators, announcers and former players select the winner.

The TQC Foundation’s mission also includes the provision of generous college scholarships to local high school students who have overcome significant emotional, physical and environmental barriers. The annual banquet in Tallahassee, Fla., showcases each year’s award winner as well as the scholarship recipients. Over 70 students have received college scholarships.

2011 Fred Biletnikoff Award watch list (Full)

Joe Adams, Arkansas; Tavon Austin, West Virginia; Cole Beasley, SMU; Demario Belcher, Indiana; Travis Benjamin, Miami; Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State; Emory Blake, Auburn; Kelvin Bolden, Southern Miss; Josh Boyce, TCU; Jarrett Boykin, Virginia Tech; Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma; Chad Bumphis, Mississippi State; Kris Burd, Virginia; Duron Carter, Alabama; Van Chew, Syracuse; Greg Childs, Arkansas; Devonte Christopher, Utah; Josh Cooper, Oklahoma State; Juron Criner, Arizona; BJ Cunningham, Michigan State; Mike Davis, Texas; Jeremy Ebert, Northwestern; Patrick Edwards, Houston; Michael Floyd, Notre Dame; Dwayne Frampton, Arkansas State; Jeff Fuller, Texas A&M; Chris Givens, Wake Forest; Noel Grigsby, San Jose State; Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas; Darius Hanks, Alabama; Mark Harrison, Rutgers; Nick Harwell, Miami (Ohio); T.Y. Hilton, FIU; DeAndre Hopkins, Clemson; Alshon Jeffery, South Carolina; AJ Jenkins, Illinois; Damaris Johnson, Tulsa; Darius Johnson, SMU; Dwight Jones, North Carolina; Marvin Jones, California; Kamar Jorden, Bowling Green; Jermaine Kearse, Washington; Tavarres King, Georgia; Lance Lewis, East Carolina; Rishard Mathews, Nevada; Marquis Maze, Alabama; DaJon McKnight, Minnesota; Marvin McNutt, Iowa; TJ Moe, Missouri; Derrick Moye, Penn State; Eric Page, Toledo; Daymond Patterson, Kansas; Royce Pollard, Hawaii; Devier Posey, Ohio State; Roy Round-tree, Michigan; Mike Shanahan, Pittsburgh; Tyler Shoemaker, Boise State; Michael Smith, Connecticut; Kenny Stills, Oklahoma; Bobby Swegert, Boston College; Ryan Swope, Texas A&M; Alex Torres, Texas Tech; Donovan Varner, Duke; Conner Vernon, Duke; Markus Wheaton, Oregon State; Jordon White, Western Michigan; Cody Wilson, Central Michigan; Marquess Wilson, Washington State; DJ Woods, Cincinnati; Robert Woods, USC; Jarius Wright, Arkansas; Kendall Wright, Baylor; Ladarius Green, Louisiana; Ryan Grant, Tulane; Rueben Randall, LSU

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us