Trio make All-State first team

From Staff and Wire


Four Patterson High School athletes as well as two from Central Catholic recently were honored as All-State selections in Class 3A and 1A, respectively, by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

In Class 3A, Patterson senior wide receiver Jaydrick DeClouette and senior linebacker Tremaine Lightfoot were first team selections, while senior quarterback Justice Jones and senior running back Trevon Stewart were honorable mention selections.

The 6-foot, 1-inch, 180 pound Declouette caught 54 passes for 866 yards and scored 18 touchdowns.

Lightfoot, a 6-foot, 2-inch, 215-pound defender, recorded 118 tackles and six forced fumbles.

Class 3A’s outstanding offensive player was McMain running back Joshua Rounds, who rushed 286 times for 2,222 yards and 34 touchdowns. He scored 260 points.

The outstanding defensive player was Amite middle linebacker Juwaan Rogers, a three-time selection, who recorded 151 tackles, eight sacks, six fumble recoveries and two interceptions.

Coach of the Year honors went to McMain’s Kevin Roussell. Patterson’s Tommy Minton was among those who were considered for Class 3A coach of the year.

For the year, Jones completed 139 of 222 passes for 2,116 yards, 30 touchdowns and three interceptions.

Stewart rushed for 796 yards on 68 carries and 12 touchdowns and caught 27 receptions for 449 yards and six more touchdowns.

In Class 1A, senior Lloyd Grogan was a first team all-district selection at linebacker, while junior Dontrell Brown earned honorable mention honors at wide receiver. Brown hauled in 31 passes for 710 yards and eight scores.

The Class 1A outstanding defensive player was West St. John defensive lineman Ronnie Feist, who recorded 65 tackles, including 44 tackles for loss.

Vermilion Catholic’s Jacoby Davis, who rushed for 2,348 yards and 38 touchdowns, was the Outstanding Offensive Player.

Other Vermilion Catholic representatives on the All-State team were receiver Ryan David (54 catches, 1,006 yards, 14 touchdowns), defensive back Mark LaPorte (seven interceptions) and quarterback Aaron David, who had 3,295 passing yards and 44 touchdowns.

First-year Vermilion Catholic coach Trev Faulk won Coach of the Year honors after leading his team to a 13-1 record.

Gueydan’s Trevor Derouen also made honorable mention all state.

Locally, multiple athletes were selected to All District teams.

In Class 4A, Morgan City linebacker Eric Walker and teammate, defensive lineman Joseph Jones, were chosen as first team selections.

On the second team, senior Austin Stroud was chosen at wide receiver after hauling in 44 catches for 697 yards and seven touchdowns.

Joining Stroud on offense were Walker at running back and Hoang Nguyen at quarterback. Walker rushed 171 times for 792 yards and 13 scores, while Nguyen completed 74 of 111 attempts for 953 yards, 10 touchdowns and four interceptions.

On the second team defense, defensive back Robert Williams and linebackers DeVonte Gabriel and Brennan Ashley all made the squad for Morgan City.

Stroud also was chosen as second team punter, return specialist and athlete.

In addition to his receiving yards, he also rushed 16 times for 208 yards and a score.

Honorable mention selections for Morgan City included wide receiver Tyrin Watts (eight catches for 193 yards and two touchdowns) and offensive linemen Matika Scott and Ben Vinning.

In District 9-3A, Patterson’s Stewart led the way with offensive MVP honors as well as first team running back, Lightfoot claimed defensive MVP honors as well as first team linebacker and Minton claimed coach of the year honors.

Other first team selections for Patterson included Jones at quarterback, Declouette and Mark Jones at wide receiver and Treylon Jenkins and Kelon Bourgeois on the offensive line.

Jones finished his senior season with 23 receptions for 247 yards and four scores and carried 31 times for 258 yards and another score.

Besides Lightfoot, other first team defensive selections for Patterson included Jade May, Josiah Parker, Lorenzo Phillips, Kiyan Jones and LaRon Todd.

Stewart was selected as the first team return specialist, too.

Second team selections included Patterson’s Earl Andrews and Deondre Skinner at wide receiver and offensive linemen Matthew Tregle and Kevin Merrit.

Andrews caught 25 passes for 412 yards and two scores, while Skinner hauled in 12 passes for 157 yards and two touchdowns.

Berwick’s Sam Bergeron also made the second team on the offensive line.

The second team defense featured Patterson’s Tarrike Phillips and Berwick’s Matt Skelton on the defensive line, Patterson’s James Tarlton and Denzel Johnson and Berwick’s Josh Engleton, all at line backers and Berwick’s Brad Lemoine and Patterson’s Kendall Hunter, both as defensive backs.

In District 8-1A, CCHS’ Josh Singleton made the squad as an athlete. For the season, he completed 126 of 207 passes for 2,053 yards, four interceptions and 22 touchdowns. He also rushed 84 times for 388 yards and five scores.

Other first team selections included Grogan at running back and linebacker, Brown at wide receiver, Kendall Robinson at defensive back, Erik Mabile at defensive end and Barron Courtney at offensive tackle.

Grogan rushed 84 times for 797 yards and 13 touchdowns and caught 24 passes for 347 yards and three scores.

Second team selections for CCHS included Jovon Johnson at linebacker, Lamar Grogan at defensive end, Brown at defensive back, Singleton at quarterback and punter, Joe Michel at offensive guard and Zach Aucoin at center.

Honorable mention selections for CCHS included Justin Arceneaux at linebacker, Tyler Hoffpauir at wide receiver and Zach Myers at offensive tackle.

For the season, Hoffpauir caught 28 passes for 395 yards and five scores.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us