Spring, summer boating season begins
Louisiana once again participated in the national “Safe Boating Week” that signified the beginning of the spring and summer boating season.
The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries reminded boaters to be safe, responsible and knowledgeable while on the water.
Safe Boating Week, which was May 19 to 25, wass a time for all boaters to inspect their vessels to ensure that all required safety equipment is on board and that vessels are in good working condition.
Enforcement agents were out in full force as always during the week to perform boating safety checks and driving or operating a vessel while intoxicated patrols. Each vessel should have enough personal flotation devices on board for all occupants and a sober operator.
State boating incident statistics indicate that 19 out of the 36 boating fatalities in 2011 were drownings that could have been prevented if the person was wearing a flotation device. Regulations state that anyone 16 years of age and younger must wear a flotation device while under way in vessels less than 26 feet long.
Agents issued 108 DWIs on the water last year to operators of vessels. Alcohol consumption impairs a boater’s judgment, balance, vision and reaction time. Alcohol also increases fatigue and susceptibility to hypothermia. Intensifying the effects of alcohol are sun, wind, noise, vibration and movement, which are all common to boating activities.
The penalties for DWI on the water are the same as on the road. Anyone cited for DWI on the water or on the road will lose his or her driver’s license and boating privileges for the specified time ordered by the judge in the case. Also, each offense of operating a vehicle or vessel while intoxicated counts toward the total number of DWI crimes whether they happened on the water or road.
In Louisiana a DWI can be issued to anyone operating a moving vessel or vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher. First offense DWI on the water or on the road carries a $300 to $1,000 fine and up to six months in jail. Second offense DWI brings a $750 to $1,000 fine and between 30 days and six months in jail. Third offense DWI carries a $5,000 fine and between one and five years in jail. Again, every DWI offense is also subject to a suspension of driving a vehicle and operating a boat privileges.
Anybody born after Jan. 1, 1984, is required to successfully complete a National Association of State Boating Law Administrators boating education course to operate a motorboat over 10 horsepower. Classes are offered free of charge statewide.
In Louisiana, anybody born after Jan. 1, 1984, is required to complete a boating course to operate a motorboat over 10 horsepower. The Wildlife and Fisheries Department offers the classes free of charge statewide. For a list of courses, visit www.wlf.louisiana.gov/boating/courses.
No wake zone
in Lower St. Martin
The St. Martin Parish Sheriff’s Office would like to remind citizens that a no wake zone is in effect for Lower St. Martin Parish, Stephensville-Belle River, Capt. Stacey Blanchard stated in a news release.
The St. Martin Parish Sheriff’s Office along with area law enforcement agencies will be patrolling the waterways and will be strictly enforcing the no wake zone, Blanchard stated.