Simmons wins 3rd annual Atchafalaya Championship

The 3rd annual Atchafalaya Championship was held in October at Atchafalaya at Idlewild near Patterson. In the left photo are winners, from left, Tillman Simmons (Players Division), Bryce Beaubouef (Low Net Players Division), Bill Marin (Senior Division), Guy Bonenfant (Low Net Senior Division), Cal Carrier (Super Senior Division) and Fabian LeMaire (Low Net Super Senior Division). (Submitted Photo/Courtesy of Atchafalaya at Idlewild)

Ed Selser, left, with Dwayne Broussard of Dwayne Broussard Woodwork and Designs, who made and donated the cypress plaques given out to the winners. (Submitted Photo/Courtesy of Atchafalaya at Idlewild)

I just hung around and was fortunate this time.

Tillman Simmons fired a (40-34) 74 to win the Players Division of the 3rd annual Atchafalaya Championship Oct. 20.
The tournament was shortened to 18 holes due to rains.
Finishing second, two strokes back, was Andy Lange with a (38-38) 76. Jeff LeLeux finished with a (37-40) 77.
“Jeff had a tough hole at 16 and gave me the tournament,” Simmons said in a release. “But I did birdie 16 and 18 coming in. I just hung around and was fortunate this time.”
LeLeux came to the 16th hole with a two-stroke lead but suffered a triple bogey, eight.
Low net in the Players Division went to Bryce Beaubouef with a 68. Second place low net was Todd Viator with a 71.
Bill Marin, who fired a remarkable (33-36) 69, won the Senior Division.
“I was fortunate that my short game was really working during that round because I was in trouble several times and was still able to par holes that certainly could have been bogies or worse,” Marin said. “Shooting under par in any individual stroke-play tournament is a really good feeling. And I can’t say enough about the excellent course conditions that we now have.”
In second place was Glenn Jumonville with a (39-39) 78.
Low net in the Senior Division belonged to Guy Bonenfant, scoring a 67. Second low net was Willie Edwards with a 71.
In the Super Senior Division, Cal Carrier led all players with a (38-40) 78. Peter Abel finished second with a (41-39) 80.
Low net belonged to Fabian LeMaire, scoring a 70. Second low net was Morris Beverly with 71.
Event sponsors included Nike and Srixon. Dwayne Broussard provided cypress plaques for the winners. Winners also received gift cards to the course’s Golf Shop.
Plans are for a cypress plaque to be displayed in the clubhouse. Defending champion for the first two years of the event was Charles Mayea.
For more information about playing in future events, call the golf shop at 985-395-GOLF (4653).

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us