Morgan City run-rules Assumption, 10-0

Morgan City High School’s Kennedy Hebert slides into home safely to score one of Morgan City’s 10 runs in its Class 4A first-round softball playoff game Monday against Assumption in Morgan City. The Lady Tigers run-ruled Assumption, 10-0, in five innings. Hebert finished 2-for-2 with two RBIs, while on the mound, she tossed a one-hitter with six strikeouts. Morgan City, the No. 13 seed in Class 4A, now will travel to face No. 4 Leesville in second-round action. (The Daily Review/Geoff Stoute)

This year’s Morgan City High School softball team is different.
First, its young — comprised mainly of freshmen and sophomores on the field.

CCHS rallies to defeat Ascension Christian, 8-3

Central Catholic High School’s Kelly Russo attempts a bunt during the Lady Eagles 8-3 victory against Ascension Christian in Class 1A first-round action in Bayou Vista Monday. Russo finished 1-for-3 with an RBI. Central Catholic, Class 1A’s No. 12 seed, will travel to face No. 5 LaSalle in second round action. (The Daily Review/Corwin Murray)

Central Catholic’s young softball team grew up in a hurry during Monday’s Class 1A bi-district playoff game at the Bayou Vista Community Center as the Lady Eagles stormed back from a 3-0 deficit to

MCHS, Assumption to meet in first round

Morgan City High School and Assumption High School will square off for the third time this season when they meet in Class 4A first-round playoff action today at 5 p.m. in Morgan City. While Morgan City took the first game between the two teams in Morgan City, the Lady Tigers lost the finale at Assumption in the district championship. Above, Morgan City’s Hannah Prado hits a pitch during district play against Ellender. (The Daily Review/Geoff Stoute)

Morgan City and Assumption split their District 7-4A contests, with Assumption taking the final matchup between the two teams for the district championship.

Berwick falls to Pine Prairie, 6-0

No. 25 Berwick High School fell to No. 8 Pine Prairie, 6-0, in Class 3A first-round playoff action on the road Saturday. Berwick concludes its season with a 10-16 mark. Above, Berwick’s Emma Hover throws back into the infield during district action against Erath. (The Daily Review/Geoff Stoute)

The Berwick Lady Panthers fell to Pine Prairie, 6-0, in Class 3A first-round playoff action on the road Saturday.


St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us