Rogers receives special plaque


MORGAN CITY — The Morgan City Bowling Association honored its members during an awards banquet Saturday, including one longtime member with a special recognition plaque.

John “Push” Rogers was given a special plaque of recognition for his work with the organizations through the years.

While Rogers could not be reached for comment on his award, Kenny Keton Sr., a former association president and newly elected board of director who presented Rogers the award, had kind words about his longtime friend.

Keton credited Rogers, who served as the association’s secretary, for making sure the association survived during tough times.

“He has been the foundation of our association … He was so involved in it that he took it upon himself to write a history of bowling in Morgan City … This is just the kind of man he is,” Keton said. “That’s how much interest he has in this game. He is a true connoisseur of the game.”

Rogers, a member of the organization’s hall of fame since 1985, also was a member of the Professional Bowlers Association and competed on the Professional Tour in the 1960s.

He has been a member of the Morgan City Bowling Association’s Board of Directors since 1967 and served as secretary of the association until he resigned his post last year.

Rogers has served as the association’s historian, while he also helped the association win national awards.

On the lanes, he won the city championship 10 times and the city doubles championship twice.

He was on a team that won the Louisiana State Championship in Shreveport in 1993.

Rogers also was the first local bowler to exceed the “800” mark, shooting a city-record 804 in 1979.

He also has bowled seven career 300 games in a 50-year span.

Below are is a recap of the other awards distributed during Saturday’s banquet:

—Special recognition plaque: Rogers.

—Most improved bowler: Jerry Harrison, from 179 to 198 average, and Larry Jones, from 170 to 189.

—Bowler of the year: Pillaro with book average 230, high series 815 and high game 300.

—Senior bowler of the year: Greg Arboneaux with book average of 202, high series of 737 and high game of 297.

—Hall of fame induction: Jim McClelland.

—Morgan City bowling consortium scholarship: Devin Quick.

—Election of officers: president, Jerry Pillaro; first vice president, Paul Lowe; second vice president, Murray Hebert; directors, Kelvin Naverre, Mike Amador, Robert Hebert Jr., Adam Amador, Pam Hensgens, Eric Cortez, Kenny Keton Jr. and Ken Keton Sr.

City Tournament Awards

—Allen Price Memorial Award (team).

—Synergy Resources, Eric Cortez, Greg Arboneaux, Rick Sartwell, Wally Arcemont Jr. and Travis Frederick (3,388).

—Other finishers: VBP Visionary Bowling (3,365) and Throw Togethers (3,314).

—Mike Duke Memorial Award (singles): Murray Hebert 804.

—Other finishers: Brandon Delaune (773), Bruce Rentrop (766), Rusty Beach (726) and Sam Grizzaffi (718).

Leo Morvant Memorial Award (Doubles)

—Karan Delaune and Brandon Delaune (1,445).

—Other finishers: Jamie Granger and Kendal Banks (1,377) and R. Beach and Neil Durr (1,373).

—Bobby Froreich Memorial award (all events handicap): Brandon Delaune.

—Other finishers: Murray Hebert (2,130), Sam Grizzaffi (2,126), Travis Frederick (2,104) and Dustin Fuselier (2,087).

—Roland Crappell Memorial Award (City Champion): Butch Cormier (2,025 scratch total pins, 225+ scratch average for 9 games including a 684 series).

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us