Qualifying continues here

Greg Roussel and Vincent J. Borne remained the only people qualified for the April 6 election as of 11 a.m. today.

Roussel, a Republican, entered the race for the unexpired Town of Berwick council position originally held by Penny T. Crappell, while Vincent J. Borne, a Democrat, qualified for the 16th Judicial District seat of Judge John Conery. Conery currently serves on the 3rd Circuit Court of Appeal. This term also is unexpired.

Qualifying dates for the April 6 election run through Friday at the Clerk of Court’s Office in the St. Mary Parish Courthouse in Franklin.

Candidates for the single vacancies on the 16th Judicial District Court and Berwick Town Council will have the opportunity to qualify between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. today and Thursday and from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Friday.

Qualifying fees in the judicial race are $300 for candidates with no party affiliation, $600 for registered Democrats and $525 for registered Republicans. In the Berwick race, the fees are $40, $80 and $70, respectively. Personal checks are not accepted. Fees must be paid in cash or with certified check, cashier’s check or money order.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us