Patterson honors athletes

From Staff Reports

Hardware was plentiful Monday evening as Patterson High School coaches honored athletes for their accomplishments during the 2011-12 sports season.

Awards were handed out in volleyball, boys’ and girls’ basketball, baseball, softball, track and field, golf, swimming, cheerleading, dance team and football.

All senior athletes were presented plaques, while Jessica DeCuir and Dylan Sanders were named the school’s Scholar Athletes of the Year. The award is given to the senior male and female who have the highest grade point average among those participating in multiple sports.

Football dominated the event as PHS coach Tommy Minton presented numerous district and state honors. He also noted that this year’s group of seniors recorded 41 victories in four years, and in 2011, they played for a state title and on national television. He called the seniors “one of the most accomplished classes in the history of Patterson football.” Seven members of that squad will move on to the collegiate ranks, too.

Below is a recap of the awards presented in each sport:


District 9-3A Offensive MVP: Trevon Stewart

District 9-3A Defensive MVP: Tremaine Lightfoot

First team All-District 9-3A: Justice Jones (quarterback), Stewart (running back), Jaydrick DeClouet (wide receiver), Mark Jones (wide receiver), Treylon Jenkins (offensive line), Kelon Bourgeois (offensive line), Jade May (defensive line), Josiah Parker (defensive line), Lorenzo Phillips (linebacker), Lightfoot (linebacker), Kiyan Jones (defensive back) and LaRon Todd (defensive back)

Second team All-District 9-3A: Earl Andrews (wide receiver), Deondre Skinner (wide receiver), Matthew Tregle (offensive line), Kevin Merritt (offensive line), Tarrike Phillips (defensive line), James Tarleton (linebacker), Denzel Johnson (linebacker) and Kendall Hunter (defensive back)

Honorable mention All-District 9-3A: Elijah Johnson (defensive line) and Nick Morrison (defensive line)

Class 3A All-State: Stewart (running back), J. Jones (quarterback), DeClouet (wide receiver), L. Phillips (linebacker) and Lightfoot (linebacker)

Academic All-District: K. Jones.

Captain’s Award: Jenkins, Lightfoot, Stewart, L. Phillips and J. Jones

District 9-3A Coach of the Year: Tommy Minton


Second team All-District: Caitlyn Fontenot

Honorable Mention All-District: Keisha Kinchen

Academic All-District: DeCuir, Katelyn Sonnier, Chynna Williams and Kasey Stratton

Coaches Award: DeCuir

Boys’ Basketball

First team All-District 9-3A: Skinner and Lightfoot

Second team All-District 9-3A: Dylan Sanders

Honorable mention All-District: Stewart, Gino Hall and D. Johnson

Academic All-District: Sanders

Captain’s Award: Sanders and Lightfoot

District 9-3A Coach of the Year: Ryan Taylor

Girls’ Basketball

First team All-District 9-3A: Claudia Fine

Honorable Mention All-District: Kinchen, Williams and T’ala Johnson

Academic All-District 9-3A: Fine, Williams, Brianna Gray and Kassandra Merritt

Captain’s Award: Fine

Coaches Award: Alexis Webb and Merritt


First team All-District 9-3A: DeClouet (outfield), Spencer Landry (shortstop) and Dallas Hamlett (utility)

Second team All-District 9-3A: Cameron Clements (pitcher), Cameron Fontenot (pitcher) and Ryan Wade (catcher)

Honorable mention All-District 9-3A: Bryce Tabor (outfield)

Academic All-District 9-3A: Wade, Clements and Aaron Hazel

Coaches Award: Clements and Wade


Second-team All-District 9-3A: Rebecca Taylor (catcher), Caitlyn Fontenot (shortstop), Madi Morris (outfield), Carissa Fontenot (utility), Jordon Aucoin (utility) and Rachel Easley (utility).

Honorable Mention All-District 9-3A: Carli McIntyre and Arianna Ross

Academic All-District 9-3A: Morgan Lavergne

Captain’s Award: Taylor

Coaches Award: Ross and McIntyre

Track and Field

First team All-District 9-3A: Jonothan Jeffcoat

Second team All-District 9-3A: Traylin Jennings

Honorable mention All-District 9-3A: LaRon Todd, Daylon Charlot, K. Jones, Stewart, Kendall Hunter, L. Phillips and Joe Duffie

Academic All-District 9-3A: Jones, Tori Grogan, Claudia Fine and Williams

Captain’s Award: Todd, Jimari Brown

Coaches Award: Jeffcoat, Shianna Phillips and Duffie


Second team All-District 9-3A: Bobby Abshire


Coaches Award: Bridget Bienvenu

Class 3A Academic All-State: Katelyn Craddock

Dance Team

Captain’s Awards: Brandi Smith (captain), Sonnier (co-captain) and Angel Dugas (co-captain).


Captain’s Award: Acacia Freeman

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us