Patterson Garden Club elects officers at meeting

The Patterson Garden Club held its April meeting Tuesday at the Patterson Area Civic Center.

Linda Thomas, chairman of the nominating committee, held election of officers. Elected to office were Sandra Marshall, president; Evelyn Estay, vice president; Linda Thomas, secretary; and Iris Roy, treasurer. Marshall appointed Sandra Underwood as parliamentarian and Ginger Griffin as reporter.

The ways and means committee held its annual fundraiser drawing. Winners received gift certificates to Marvin’s Gardens in various denominations. Winners were Michael Sirarath, first place, $250; Lisa Wilson, second, $150; and Gene White, third, $100. The club expressed thanks to everyone who participated in the annual fundraiser.

Daisy Leblanc, co-chairman of the club’s horticulture committee and an avid gardener, gave a presentation on “Tips to Grow your Own Pineapple.” She gave a demonstration on how to start a pineapple plant and provided growing tips.

It was announced that Debbie and L.P. Lipari, and Barbara and Tommy Bonneval were presented with yard of the month awards.

Plans were discussed for the upcoming Louisiana Garden Club Federation District Meeting that Patterson Garden Club will host in October.

Hostesses for the meeting were Gretchen Lambert and Peggy Rentrop. At the close of the meeting, Thomas won the half-and-half drawing.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us