Only 1 seat unchallenged in Morgan City


One Morgan City councilman emerged from the qualifying period with no opposition.

Barry J. Dufrene went unopposed in District 2, replacing Larry Bergeron, who is running for Morgan City mayor.

With qualifying closed, the field for local elections on Nov. 6 is set.

Five candidates are vying for the position of Morgan City mayor including Bergeron, Lee Dragna, Frank “Boo” Grizzaffi, Bart Mancuso and Kevin Voisin.

Morgan City Council candidates in the contested districts include Tim T. Hymel (incumbent) and Drue C. Clement for District 1, “Ron” Bias (incumbent) and C.E. “Charlie” Pratt in District 3, Ronald Berry and James Fontenot in District 4, and Louis J. Tamporello Jr. (incumbent) and Mac R. Bruno in District 5.

In Patterson, Charles Sawyer, currently serving as the interim councilman, went unopposed. Sawyer will be filling the unexpired term of his late wife Claire Sawyer.

Other races affecting voters in St. Mary Parish include:

—Third Congressional District race: incumbents Charles W. Boustany Jr., currently representing Seventh Congressional District and Jeff Landry, incumbent in the Third Congressional District are running. Reapportionment placed Boustany and Landry into the same race. Also in the race are Bryan Barrilleaux, Ron Richard and Jim Stark, all of Lake Charles.

—Louisiana State Court of Appeals, First Circuit, First District, Division B: Candidates William C. Dupont of Plaquemine, J. Christopher Erny of Houma, Mark D. Plaisance in Thibodaux and Mitch Theriot of Raceland have qualified.

—Public Service Commission District 2: Scott A. Angelle of Breaux Bridge, Greg Gaubert of Thibodaux, Sarah Holliday of Baton Rouge, Erich Ponti of Baton Rouge, Ed Roy of Lafayette and Forest Wright of New Orleans.

—First Circuit Court of Appeal, First District, Division D: Vanessa Guidry-Whipple of Bourg is unopposed.

—Associate Justice, Sixth Supreme Court District: John L. Weimer of Thibodaux is unopposed.

—James Harris of the Socialist Workers Party qualified for the ballot as a presidential elector. He lists a New Orleans address but is on the St. Mary Parish ballot. Also listed on the ballot is Alyson Kennedy. No information was available about her this morning.

Should a runoff be required after the general election in any race, it will be held Dec. 8.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us