Morgan City council seats filled, winners comment

MORGAN CITY, La.-- Three Morgan City council members were re-elected and a new member was elected Tuesday.

They join Barry Dufrene, District 2, who was elected unopposed to the council.

In District 1, Tim Hymel was re-elected with 68 percent of the vote over Drue Clement.

“I was very, very excited to see the overwhelming support,” Hymel said. “We have the same battles we’ve been fighting for years,” he said, adding that he “will continue to fight those battles.” Hymel looks forward to working with the next mayor and the two new city councilmen, he said.

In District 2, Barry Dufrene ran unopposed, and was elected for the first time.

In District 3, Ron Bias was elected to a third term with 60 percent of the vote over C.E. “Charlie” Pratt. “The election went the way we expected it to go,” Bias said. “My personal goals are to have a close-knit working relationship with whoever the mayor is and other elected officials.” Bias would work with the city to improve the waste management system, he said.

In District 4, James Fontenot was elected to his first term receiving 61 percent of the vote over Ronald Berry. Fontenot could not be reached for comment Thursday morning.

In District 5, Louis Tamporello, Jr., was elected to a third term receiving 77 percent of the vote over Mac Bruno. “Last night went really great for me,” Tamporello said. “I was really flattered.” The city has “issues with our power plant” and finding enough money to spend in the budget is always an issue he said. “We all need to work together,” he said. Tamporello would work with whichever candidate becomes the next mayor, and the new city councilmen, he said.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us