MCHS baseball places 10 on district teams

Staff Report

Morgan City High School placed 10 on the All-District 8-4A teams.

The squad’s first-team selections included junior second baseman Nicholas Spinella and senior outfielders Buck Gautreaux and Ryan Veillion.

Spinella finished the district season with a .395 batting average and 13 RBIs, while Gautreaux batted .294 with three doubles, one triple, seven RBIs, 16 runs, a .478 on base percentage and a .294 batting average.

Veillion batted .333 with two doubles, two triples, a home run and 13 RBIs. He also had an 11-game hitting streak.

Vandebilt Catholic senior Matt Bergeron was named Most Valuable Player after batting .444 with two home runs and 16 RBIs in district play. He also recorded a 3-1 record on the mound.

Vandebilt’s Corey Sullivan was named the district’s top coach.

Morgan City’s representatives on the second team were seniors Josh Glatter, Taylor Brocato and Dylan Hymel, while honorable mention selections for the Tigers were senior Craig Mayon, juniors Chandler Delaune and Grant Perry and sophomore Brady Fryou.

All-District 8-4A squads

First team

P: Matt Ledet, junior, Ellender Memorial High School; Kurt Arceneaux, senior, South Terrebonne High School; Josh Bergeron, senior, VCHS; Matt Bergeron, senior, VCHS

C: Brent Duplantis, senior, EMHS; Matt Benoit, junior, STHS

1B: Slye Ourso, senior, Assumption High School

2B: Nicholas Spinella, junior, Morgan City High School

3B: Alex Salassi, senior, STHS

SS: Jordan Bergeron, junior, VCHS

OF: Buck Gautreaux, senior, MCHS; Ryan Veillion, senior, MCHS; Jacob Walker, senior, VCHS; Hudson Rodrigue, junior, AHS

UTL: Tyler Landry, AHS

MVP: Matt Bergeron, senior, Vandebilt Catholic High School

Coach of the Year: Corey Sullivan, VC

Second team

Dylan Hymel, senior, MCHS; Sam White, senior, STHS; Chase Hawthorne, junior, VCHS; Josh Glatter, senior, MCHS; Kevin Genoit, junior, VCHS; Aiden Sanders, freshman, AHS; Nick Robinson, senior, EMHS; Taylor Brocato, senior, MCHS; Derek Hebert, junior, EMHS; Shane Hernandez, junior, AHS; Cullen Bergeron, senior, STHS; Dylan Boudreaux, junior, EMHS; Cade Matherne, junior, VCHS; Drake Vedros, junior, AHS; Gavin Hebert, sophomore, STHS

Honorable mention

Johnathan Talbot and Justin Chaisson, AHS; Jordan Gautreaux, EMHS; Craig Mayon, senior, Chandler Delaune, junior, Grant Perry, junior, Brady Fryou; MCHS; James Leblanc, Tyler Crochet, Tony Billiot, Blake Pellegrin, and Joey Brunet, STHS; Tanner Whatley, James Cenac and Grant Bergeron, VCHS

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us