MC Tigers place many on all-district team

From Staff Reports

The Morgan City Fighting Tigers’ soccer team placed seven players on the Division II, District 8 All-District team, including three on the first team.

Morgan City senior defender Austin Stroud, senior midfielder Oscar Hinojosa, and junior forward Victor Cerritos all were named to the top squad.

MCHS boys assistant coach Trevor Patterson said Stroud, a four-year member of the Tigers’ squad, was “a tremendous defender. His work ethic on the field will be greatly missed.”

Hinojosa also was a four-year member of the squad and played at the left midfield position.

Cerritos made the district’s top squad in just his second year playing on Morgan City’s squad.

“This year he … was a major factor in our scoring,” Patterson said.

E.D. White junior Derek Knight was selected as the district’s offensive most valuable player, while Vandebilt Catholic senior James Daigle was selected as its defensive MVP.

E.D. White’s Roger Bimah was named district Coach of the Year.

E.D. White had five other first team selections, junior goalkeeper Brendon Gros, sophomore defender Seth Ledet, Knight, a midfielder; and junior forwards, Colby Masse and Eric St. Romain.

Vandebilt placed five on the top squad, defenders, Daigle and juniors, Seth Miller and Patrick Yancey; and midfielders, juniors Andrew Teuton and Adam Leblanc.

South Terrebonne placed two on the all-district first team, senior goalkeeper Zachary Lebouef and senior midfielder Britt Pellegrin.

On the second team, the Tigers placed four, senior goalkeeper Taylor Mayon, junior defenders German Pantoja and Tyler Jones, and freshman midfielder Urias Cardona.

Mayon has been the Tigers’ starting goalie for the past two years. He recorded nine shutout games this year, including the Tigers’ upset victory against Vandebilt.

Pantoja made the second team squad in his first season with the MCHS team.

“He played very well for us and will be a big factor for us next season,” Patterson said.

Jones, who has played three years, will be a key returnee for the Tigers next year, Patterson said.

Cardona, Patterson said, was “well deserving of a first team spot for his playing ability and work ethic.”

Other second team selections included Vandebilt Catholic senior goalkeeper Patrick Watson and senior midfielder Cody Glaviano; E.D. White defenders, senior Austin Blanchard, junior Trey Rodrigue and sophomore Rene Thibodaux; freshmen midfielders Allen Frost and James Viguerie; and sophomore forward Dillon Pierce.

South Terrebonne had two second team selections, junior forward Jonathan Barba and sophomore forward Matt Benoit; while Ellender added senior defender Drake Granier to the squad.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us