Mayea wins inaugural championship at Atchafalaya

By: Staff Reports
Charles Mayea outlasted Bill Marin to win the first-ever pass holder championship at the Atchafalaya Golf Course in Patterson.

The tournament was open to all annual pass holders. The Atchafalaya at Idlewild is a public facility and offers an annual pass, which allows golfers to enjoy amenities such as discounts in the golf shop, preferential tee times, and special events. The course has been awarded several prestigious honors including Golfweek’s No. 1 “Best Course You Can Play in Louisiana” and their top 50 list nationwide.

Mayea posted scores of 75 and 71 for a total of 146 for the two day, 36-hole event. He captured the title by one stroke over Marin who shot 74 and 73 for a 147 total score. Mayea reeled off four birdies over the final nine holes of play after trailing Marin by three shots after 27 holes.

Jim Welch won the first flight with a total of 158 (76/82) and his margin of victory was also one stroke over Calvin Leleux, who posted 159 (80/79).

The winner of the second flight with a total score of 154 (76/78) was Gippy Lacoste as he finished comfortably ahead of Rocky Roussel’s 173 (86/87).

The low net winners of the three flights were Marin with a 139 net in the championship flight, Fabian LeMaire with a 142 net in the first flight, and Jacob Marcell with a net score of 148 in the second flight.

For more information on becoming a pass holder or securing a tee time, call the Golf Shop at (985)395-GOLF (4653).

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us