Last meeting of PC term set Wednesday

A brief agenda awaits the St. Mary Parish Council when it meets in its final session of 2011 Wednesday.

Items of business to be considered include a proposed ordinance amending the 2011 fiscal year budget, a resolution endorsing participation in the state Quality Jobs Program by LAD Services LLC and a request by Council Craig Mathews to transfer $6,000 in Wards 1, 2, 3, 4, 7 and 10 three-tenths sales tax funds to Recreation District 5 for an empowerment summit and leadership team retreat. A public hearing on the proposed ordinance will be called at 5:45 p.m.

The meeting is the last session for the current council. Election of the new council was held on Oct. 22.

There will be three new members on the council in January — Butch Metz representing District 1; Tim Tregle, District 7; and Sterling Fryou, District 8. Leaving the council will be Mathews who lost reelection to Metz, Chuck Walters who did not run and Gary Duhon who lost his bid for the president’s seat to incumbent Paul Naquin. Kevin Voisin, currently representing District 7 will move over to the at-large District 11 seat.

Walters, Duhon and Voisin have all served their two-term limit on their current seats.

Returning for their second terms of office will be Butch Middleton, District 2; David Hanagriff, District 3; Glen Hidalgo, District 4; Ken Singleton, District 5; Logan Fromenthal, District 6; Albert Foulcard, at-large District 9; and Steve Bierhorst, at-large District 10.

Naquin and the new council will take their oaths of office in a special ceremony on Monday, Jan. 9 at 4:30 p.m. in the council meeting room.

Wednesday’s meeting begins at 6 p.m. on the fifth floor of the courthouse.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us