Jenna Bush Hager to speak at Girl Scouts Centennial Luncheon

NEW ORLEANS — Girl Scouts Louisiana East is celebrating 100 years of leadership with Jenna Bush Hager as keynote speaker at its Centennial Luncheon and Women of Distinction Awards at noon Nov. 2 at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans.

Hager, daughter of former President George W. and Laura Bush and a Today show correspondent, will be joined by New Orleans City Council Vice President and Girl Scout alumna Jacquelyn Brechtel Clarkson as honorary chair. New Orleans Archbishop Gregory Aymond will give the invocation, and mistress of ceremonies will be Kelder Summers-Jones, co-host of the Home Team Morning Show on Old School 106.7 and a Girl Scout Board Development Committee member.

The public is invited to join other community leaders, Girl Scout alumnae and volunteers, for the fundraising luncheon and a pre-luncheon champagne reception beginning at 11 a.m. Proceeds will go to support the Girl Scout Leadership Experience in southeast Louisiana. Cost to attend the luncheon is $100 per person, with reserved tables of 10 available at $1,000. Cost to attend both the luncheon and champagne reception is $150 per person.

“Girl Scouts has been developing girls into leaders for 100 years,” said Jackie Alexander, council chief executive officer. “We are committed to ensuring that girls have the same opportunities as boys, becoming leaders who make a difference in their communities.”

Hager is a contributing correspondent to NBC’s Today show where she focuses on telling inspiring stories of people doing great things across America. In 2006, Hager traveled to Latin America as an intern with UNICEF where she was inspired to write “Ana’s Story: A Journey of Hope”, a New York Times best seller based on the life of a 17-year-old single mother living with HIV.

She serves as the chair of UNICEF’s Next Generation, an initiative dedicated to reducing the number of preventable childhood deaths around the world. A graduate of the University of Texas where she received a degree in English, Hager is also the co-author of “Read All About It!”

According to Alexander, the council will honor 14 of its former board presidents, who were instrumental in leading southeast Louisiana Girl Scouts through its first century of Girl Scouting. They include: Mary Jane Becker, Margaret Jo Borland Beckwith, Janice Carpenter, Jacquelyn S. Daniels, Sheila Smith, Betty Lauricella, Myrle LeBlanc, Helen Loos, Nell McAnelly, Andrea McKey, Marguerite Redwine, Karen St. Cyr, Ann Forte Trappey, and Margie Loud Zeno.

Tickets to the luncheon and champagne reception are limited and may be purchased online at Deadline to RSVP is Oct. 29.

For more information about the luncheon or becoming a corporate sponsor, contact luncheon coordinator Cerise McClendon at 800-644-7571.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us