Landry, Russo lead CCHS’ all-district selections

Coach Joe Russo (The Daily Review/File Photos)

Kimberly Russo

Megan Landry

Brittany Longman

Gee Garrett

Bridgett Swan

Central Catholic placed 11 on the All-District 7-1A teams, including a sweep of the individual awards.
The Lady Eagles junior pitcher Megan Landry was named District 7-1A MVP, while coach Joe Russo was named the district’s Coach of the Year.
The Lady Eagles finished district play with a 12-0 mark, while Landry surrendered just seven runs and shut out every team in the district at least once in the two rounds of district play. She tossed two perfect games and three no-hitters.
Russo, who was coach of the year in the district in 2013, led a dominating team that outscored their district opponents 140-7.
In addition to Landry and Russo, other first-team selections for the Lady Eagles were first baseman Bridgette Swan, second baseman Brittany Longman, outfielder Geralyn Garrett and utility selection Kimberly Russo.
The Lady Eagles’ second-team selections consisted of third baseman Kaitlyn Gros, outfielder Brooke Lipari and utility selection Elizabeth Garber.
Honorable mention selections for Central Catholic were Jena Teachman, Hallie Autin and Paige Thomas.
Below is the complete all-district teams:

First Team
Pitcher: Megan Landry, Central Catholic; Sara Sonnier, Hanson Memorial; Morgan Touchet, Highland Baptist; and Cheyenne LaCombe, Gueydan.

Catcher: Paige Diamond, HMS

First Base: Bridgette Swan, CCHS

Second Base: Brittany Longman, CCHS
Third Base: Leah Camel, Vermilion Catholic

Shortstop: Kim Sonnier, HMS

Outfield: Brooke Bagala, HB; Geralyn Garret, CCHS; and Kaylee Broussard, HMS

Utility: Kimberly Russo, CCHS; Chelsea Lotief, Ascension Episcopal; Katie Frith, VC; and Allyssa Young, HMS

Megan Landry CCHS

Coach of the Year
Joe Russo, CCHS

Second Team
Pitcher: Mackenzie Hebert, HMS

Catcher: Miyha Partilos, Lafayette Christian Academy

First Base: Zanesia Bernard, VC

Second Base: Jadyn Peters, HB

Third Base: Kaitlyn Gros, CCHS

Shortstop: Ashari Terry, GHS

Outfield: Bella Doucet, VC; Brooke Lipari, CCHS; and Sheridan Guidry, GHS

Utility: Ellen Langlinais, VC; Keegan Hanks, GHS; Amelia Provost, HB; Elizabeth Garber, CCHS; Noel Baker, HMS; Bailey Lafleur, LCA; and Hanna Fruge, LCA

Honorable Mention
AES: Jessica Greco, Claire Trahan and Annie Perry
CCHS: Jena Teachman, Halley Autin and Paige Thomas

GHS: Lindsey Vedalier, Mya Vincent, Ali Bourque, Annie Simon and Sydney Zaunbrecher

HMS: Ashley Champagne, Evelyn Pontiff and Charlote Pillaro

HB: Ally Gary, Emma Frederick and Katie White

LCA: Liberty Broussard and Bailey Leger

VC: Lexi Langlinais, Mary Meaux, Caroline David, Kaylee White, Kelly White and Haley Faulk

Additional reporting by

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us