’Jacks dominate District 9-3A team

The Patterson Lumberjacks dominated the District 9-3A All-District team with 14 first-team selections, including the District Offensive MVP, and 22 in all on the first two squads.
Patterson quarterback Spencer Landry led the Patterson selections as he was named Offensive Most Valuable Player.
Franklin, the District 9-3A runner-up, took the other two individual awards as Cedric Paul was named Defensive MVP and J Ina earned Coach of the Year.
Patterson, the District 9-3A champion with a 4-0 mark, had eight first-team selections on offense and six more on defense.
Besides Landry, other of-fensive selections for the Lumberjacks included running back Deontay Jones, wide receivers Daylon Charlot and Mykel Jones, tight end Jedrick Gunner and offensive linemen Landon Thomas, Kevin Merritt and Malik Garrett.
Defensive first-team selec-tions for Patterson included defensive linemen Matt Tregle and Nehemiah Augustus, linebacker Taylor Harris, FLEX player Larry Turner and defensive backs Shelby Lavergne and Shay Ragas.
Berwick had one first-team selection, punter Brooks Richard.
Area second-team offensive selections included running back Tristen Ausama, wide receiver Rene Maillet, and offensive linemen Jayce Leblanc and Keith Gray, all of Patterson; as well as offensive lineman Sam Bergeron and athlete Bobby Boudreaux, both of Berwick.
Second-team defensive se-lection from the Tri-City area included defensive lineman Earl Johnson, linebacker Malik Bass and defensive back Kendell Hunter, all of Patterson; and linebacker Tré Matthews and defensive back Braden Billiot, both of Berwick.
Honorable mention selections included Jake Lagrange, Shundren Johnson and Joe Duffie, all of Patterson; and Seth Legendre, Jeremy Boudreaux, Drew Landry and Justin Morvant, all of Berwick.
Below is the list of the entire team:

First-Team Offense
QB, Spencer Landry, Patterson; RB, Deontay Jones, Patterson; RB, Brandon McFarlane, Franklin; RB, Darius Charles, E.D. White; WR, Daylon Charlot, Patterson; WR, Mykel Jones, Patterson; WR, Steven Sullivan, Donaldsonville; TE, Jedrick Gunner, Patterson; OL, Landon Thomas, Patterson; OL, Kevin Merritt, Patterson; OL, Malik Garrett, Patterson; OL, Sholamo Elzy, Franklin; OL, J.P. Guidry, E.D. White; ATH, Jarion Brown, Franklin; K, Rene Thibodaux, E.D. White; KR, Leondre James, Donaldsonville

First-Team Defense
DL, Matt Tregle, Patterson; DL, Nehemiah Augustus, Patterson; DL, Cedric Paul, Franklin; DL, Tyler Dean, E.D. White; LB, Taylor Harris, Patterson; LB, Larry Grimm, Franklin; LB, Justin Theriot, E.D. White; LB, Mark Favorite, Donaldsonville; FLEX, Larry Turner, Patterson; DB, Shelby Lavergne, Patterson; DB, Shay Ragas, Patterson; DB, Perry Cargo, Donaldsonville; DB, David Kinchen, Franklin; P, Brooks Richard, Berwick

Second-Team Offense
QB, Torrence Brown, Donaldsonville; RB, Brian Robertson, Franklin; RB, Tristen Ausama, Patterson; RB, Conner Chaisson, E.D. White; WR, Rene Maillet, Patterson; WR, Leondre James, Donaldsonville; WR, Allen Randle, Franklin; WR, Simeon Theodile, Franklin; OL, Jayce Leblanc, Patterson; OL, Keith Gray, Patterson; OL, Shawn Francis, Franklin; OL, Taylor Casteigne, E.D. White; OL, Fred Williams, Donaldsonville; OL, Sam Bergeron, Berwick; ATH, Bobby Boudreaux, Berwick

Second-Team Defense
DL, Earl Johnson, Patterson; DL, Chris Jones, Franklin; DL, Fred Foster, Donaldsonville; DL, Jai’ondrick Lovely, Franklin; DL, Patrick Allen, E.D. White; LB, Malik Bass, Patterson; LB, De’john Parker, Franklin; LB, Dave MaClarity, Franklin; LB, Hunter Caballero, E.D. White; LB, Tre Matthews, Berwick; DB, Kendell Hunter, Patterson; DB, Seth Ledet, E.D. White; DB, Jeremy Round, E.D. White; DB, Leondre James, Donaldsonville; DB, Braden Billiot, Berwick

Honorable Mention
Jake Lagrange, Patterson; Shundren Johnson, Patterson; Joe Duffie, Patterson; Seth Legendre, Berwick; Jeremy Boudreaux, Berwick; Drew Landry, Berwick; Justin Morvant, Berwick

MVP Offense
Spencer Landry, Patterson

MVP Defense
Cedric Paul, Franklin

Coach of the Year
J Ina, Franklin

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us