Girl Scouts to hold recognition dinner

BATON ROUGE — Nine women leaders in the community will be honored at the Girl Scouts Louisiana East 2013 Women of Distinction dinner on Sept. 27 at the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center.

Honorees will include Peggy Armstrong of New Orleans, Brenda Leroux Babin of Houma, Linda Law Clark of Baton Rouge, Betty Dixon of Baker, U.S. Marshal Genny May of New Orleans, Anne Roberts of Baton Rouge, Julie Rose of Baton Rouge, Dr. Christy Valentine of New Orleans and Jacqueline Vines of Baton Rouge.

According to Louisiana East, the women were selected based on their achievements as business, community and civic leaders dedicated to supporting leadership opportunities for girls.

Last fall the council recognized its first class of Women of Distinction during the Girl Scout Centennial Luncheon, the council’s legacy board/presidents, and is making this recognition an annual event.

“The group of women selected this year have dedicated themselves to make our community a better place, demonstrating Girl Scout values in all they do,” said Jackie Alexander, CEO. “We invite our supporters to join us as we honor these extraordinary women for their accomplishments and dedication to girls.”

Tickets for the awards dinner are $75 each or $85 for the champagne reception and dinner. The champagne reception is from 6 to 7 p.m. with dinner from 7 to 10 p.m.

Event chairwoman is Ann Forte Trappey of Baton Rouge, former Girl Scouts board president and 2012 Woman of Distinction. Valero is a “Brownie” sponsor of the event, and additional sponsorships are available.

Ticket information or to sponsor a table, contact Development Manager Cerise McClendon at 504-355-5886 or email

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us