Fribley, Tallada crowned Children’s Day royalty

Joshua Michael Fribley and Trysten Nicole Tallada were crowned Louisiana Shrimp and Petroleum Festival Children’s Day King and Queen Saturday following a random drawing held at the festival office in Morgan City.

This year’s royalty will be presented during the Louisiana Shrimp and Petroleum Festival Coronation Court on Saturday at the Morgan City Municipal Auditorium. The coronation will feature the crowning of the adult king and queen.

Fribley is the 9-year-old son of Michael Sweetser Jr. of Berwick and Susan Stevens of Patterson. He is the grandson of Lona LeSalle of Broussard, Michael Sweetser Sr. of Bayou Vista and Judy See of Patterson.

The third-grader at Hattie Watts Elementary School in Patterson enjoys fishing, playing chess and riding a four-wheel with his dad.

Tallada is the 7-year-old daughter of Christina Leonard of Morgan City. She is the granddaughter of Peggy Leonard and great-granddaughter of Jerry and Louise Harvey of Morgan City.

The third-grader at Wyandotte Elementary School in Morgan City names science as her favorite subject. She enjoys swimming, dancing, riding her bike, going to the movies and helping her mom take care of their pets.

Sponsor of Children’s Day is the family of Marion Bergeron and the late Oliver Bergeron.

Past Children’s Day royalty includes:

1973 — Suzanne Wasson and Casey Dozar; 1974 — Cindy Eskridge and Brian Roy; 1975 — Melanie Solar Percy Hebert; 1976 — Julie Cortez and Mark Pennison; 1977 — Monica Billiot and Dean Grizzaffi; 1978 — Mary Ellen Porth and Scott Boudreaux; 1979 — Chantelle Roy and Leslie Torgrimson;

1980 — Paula Cortez and Kevin Burt; 1981 — Holli Keller and Ryan Sanders; 1982 — Ginger Reeves and Jason Leonard; 1983 — Holly Cortez and Jeremy Broussard; 1984 — Casey Miller and Richard Parker; 1985 — Angela Giandelone and David Barousse; 1986 — Amanda Judice and Jamey Chellette; 1987 —Colleen Hammonds and Corey Matherne; 1988 — Ellena Arthur and Chad DuBois; 1989 — Kassi Simoneaux and Gabe Meranto;

1990 — Anna Marie Courville and Bill Cefalu; 1991 — Jani Meranto and Robert Balance; 1992 — Ashley Hudson and Justin Cheramie; 1993 — Megan Driskill and Shaun Sikes; 1994 — Alana Cefalu and Jacob DuBois; 1995 — Katelyn Duplantis and Dustin Levy; 1996 — Dasha Maize and Dylan Bergeron; 1997 — Karla Marie Heber and Shal’Jaup Williams; 1998 — Caroline Harris and Christopher Fabre; 1999 — Judith Fabre and Brent “Chip” Bergeron II;

2000 — Calie Anslem and Devin Duval; 2001 — Courtney Golloher and Justin Rogers; 2002 — Amanda Anslem and Travis Glynn; 2003 — Stephanie Flenner and Austin Courville; 2004 — McKenna Aloisio and John Ibert; 2005 — Olivia Gilbert and Hunter Mayon; 2006 — Alisha Flenner and Dylan Robinson; 2007 — Baily Grace Lejeune and Tra’Len Duhon-Dangerfield; 2008 — Jordyn Bellard and George Boston Jr.; 2009 — Rebekah Flenner and Scott Price;

2010 — Dianne Ward and Nickolas Aleksines; 2011 — Sara Price and Zane Daigle.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us