Franklin wins District III Championship

MORGAN CITY _ Great pitching and timely hitting were the key ingredients that enabled the Franklin All-Stars to capture the 2012 District III Major Championship here Tuesday at Complex Park.

Franklin earned the District Championship by defeating St. Mary Central 11-6 in the first game on Tuesday.

“These kids are amazing as they stepped up every time with exceptional pitching and defense while their bats came alive,” Franklin Coach Paul Frost said. “When I think about it our wins were a collective effort as we had our great pitching and hitting and defense, our secret weapon (a rosary) along with a great set of parents, who really supported the team.”

Franklin, which posted an impeccable 4-0 record to win the District III Tournament, will advance to the 2012 South Regional Majors Tournament in Ponchatoula on Friday.

Franklin hurlers Noah Judice, Kade Daigle and Brian Sonnier combined to send the Franklin All-Stars to the District III Title.

Judice started on the hill, tossing a brilliant game over 5 and 1/3 frames. Judice yielded two runs on five hits with six strikeouts and three walks.

Middle reliever Kade Daigle worked 1 and 2/3 frames, surrendering three runs on three hits with one walk.

Sonnier earned the save with a near-perfect inning where he fanned two of the four batters he faced with one walk before retiring the side.

Franklin’s batters supported the superb pitching with clutch hitting.

Franklin, which built a 7-1 lead over St. Mary Central in the fourth frame, struck for three runs in the top half of the first inning for a 3-0 lead.

Brian Sonnier, Brock Broussard, Brent Ina and Jack Vaccarella were all credited with key singles in the first stanza which lifted Franklin to the 3-0 advantage.

Peyton Trahan and Chase Mensman slammed timely singles in the second inning as Franklin stretched its lead to 5-1.

Brock Broussard lined a single while his teammates took advantage of walks to hand Franklin a 7-1 lead after three complete innings of action.

In the fourth frame, Devin Arton sparked a three-run uprising with a lead-off double. Mason Mendoza, Brian Sonnier, Brock Broussard and Kade Daigle all followed with singles, giving Franklin an insurmountable 7-3 cushion at the end of the fourth frame.

Key singles from Chase Mensman and Brian Sonnier along with a double by Kade Daigle triggered Franklin’s rally in the sixth inning as Franklin coasted to the 11-6 victory to capture the 2012 District III Major 12-Year-Old Championship.

Franklin returns to action Friday in the eight-team 2012 South Regional Majors Tournament in Ponchatoula.

District III Champion Franklin will take on the District VI Champion on Friday at 1 p.m.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us