Franklin High announces Creative Writing Contest winners

Several Franklin Senior High students recently participated in the 2011 National Community Awareness Creative Writing Contest. There were a total of 99 contest entries, 15 finalists, six community panel judges and six overall winners.

Prizes awarded were first place, $75; second $50; third $25; fourth $15, gift card; fifth $10, gift card and Honorable Mention $5, gift card.

Contest Overall Winners: Status; Contestant’s name; Title of Entry; and Category include:

First, Zachary McEndree; “Hope Was All She Could Do”, Breast Cancer; Second, Alexis Izaguirre, “Scars”, Domestic Violence; Third, Levi Porter, “Blackmailed”, Bullying; Fourth, Anthony Jones Jr.; “Sticks & Stones”; Domestic Violence; Fifth, Mark Ruffin, “Awareness Rap/Slam”; Domestic/Bullying; and Honorable Mention, Angelica Blanks, “Domestic Violence”, Domestic Violence.

Contest Finalists that include name, title of entry and category are:

Nick Bishop, “Breast Cancer”, Breast Cancer; Hannah Walker, “Fight for a Cure”, Breast Cancer; Maria Garcia, “My Mother had Breast Cancer”, Breast Cancer; Natalie Hughes, “Taken”, Breast Cancer; Disheba White, “What You Think You See”, Breast Cancer.

Leon Gisclair, “Look Through the Veil”, Domestic Violence; Cameron Perera, “Tough Love”, Domestic Violence; Jennifer Hernandez, “Paper Cuts”, Domestic Violence; Brice Jones, “Disappeared”, Domestic Violence; Shalanda Kindred, “Domestic Violence”, Domestic Violence.

Madison Dupre, “Bad School Days”, Bullying; Zachary Dupre, “Another Day” & Cyber Bullying”, Bullying; Cari Powell, “They Do Not”, Bullying; M’Asia Johnson, “Life Wasted”, Bullying; and Micah Hughes, “Bullying Awareness”, Bullying.

Other Contest Participants include:

Matthew Roy, Marissa Renee Brown, Taylor Fegenbush, Abigail Suitt, Hannah Marcantel, Jordan Richard, Emma Gray, Lauren Lemoine, Paige Olivier Russo, Claire Parsiola, Quentine Kelly, Nate Furlette, Abigail Laskew, Morgan Williams, Daniel Gray, Josie Basas, Jessica Bergeron, Caroline Osburn, Seth Legendre, Chet Aucoin, Mary Kathrun Scully, Kristin Carline, McKenzie Baumgartner, Maggie Martin.

Thomas Arthur, Neal Theriot, Mark Bordelon, Allissa Garrison, Milan Stewart, Keryale Davis, Donte’ Cross, Tydrick Burrell, Mark Davis, Haley Minor, Yvanna Pogue, Jamesha Peters, John Boagni, Sasha Johnson, Mark Wesley, Alesha Navy, Delashia Marshall, Xavier Jones.

Andre’ Adams, Rennen Delatte, Allis Armato, Zachary Dupre (2nd entry), Kaylah Benjamin, Shquille Brooks, Amber Watson, Malik Robertson, Eddie Ross, Joantress Warner, Amber Spain, Luis Garcia, Tatiyana Gray, Brad Jones, Ayanna Rhine, Ashalah Cross, Amber Spain, Tireashaw Bolden.

Mary Margaret Sanford, Jeanne Marie Hidalgo, Aleigha Lenoir, Wayne Yelling, Lazin McDaniel, Jeremy Jennings, Terri Freeman, Gabriel Louis, D’Andre Smith, Blainedreale Golden, Brian Winfield, Devan Thomas, Jada Davis, Claudia Johnson, Demondre Watson, Jason Louviere, Gabrielle Robertson, Corental Darby.

All contestants received a Certificate of Leadership and a personal letter of thanks. Certificates and prizes were awarded, winners were acknowledged, and teachers and administrators were commended for encouraging the students to participate in this year’s National Community Awareness Creative Writing Contest and helping to make a difference in their communities.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us