Franklin Girls honored by HMS with signage at park

The 2011 Franklin Girls Babe Ruth All-Star Team 12U were honored with a special sign from the Hanson Memorial Tigers Baseball team, marking the team’s participating in the 2011 Babe Ruth World Series in Andalusia, Alabama during a ceremony Tuesday at Caffery Park.

Hanson Memorial Head Baseball Coach Ryan Stoute and the Hanson Baseball team players were on hand Tuesday at Caffery Park. A special sign was presented with the team’s name and players and coaches’ names denoting the team’s entry to the 2011 Babe Ruth World Series.

The 2011 Franklin Girls Babe Ruth All-Star team was composed of: Noel Johnson; Ashley Meyerholtz; Aimee Saintes; Sadie Payne; Maggie Johnson; Brooklyn Mayon; Lunden Verdin; Grace Leblanc; Kennon Stelly; Baylee Young; Sarah Sonnier and Noel Baker. Coaches were Clint Young, Blake Johnson and Karen Meyerholtz. Camille Baker was the batgirl.

Franklin finished in fourth place in the Louisiana State Babe Ruth Tournament in St. Charles Parish.

Franklin received an invitation to play in the Southwest Regional Tournament in Gulfport, Mississippi after the third place finishers in the state chose not to attend.

Franklin dominated action in the Southwest Regional Tournament behind great pitching and great hitting.

Franklin went undefeated in the Southwest Regional Tournament going undefeated by beating the Louisiana State champs, St. Charles twice and the second place team Terrebonne along with teams from Gulfport, MS and Arkansas.

Franklin’s Sarah Sonnier won the tournament MVP for her outstanding pitching and hitting.

Franklin participated in the Babe Ruth World Series, winning 3 of 5 games. The tournament play consisted of playing five pool games with the top 3 teams advancing to bracket play for the championship. Franklin won 3 of 5 games and there were three teams with the same record, so the tie breaker rules were used and Franklin came out on the short end of the tie breaker.

Twelve teams from all over the country participated in the 2011 Babe Ruth World Series.

The teams included: Halifax, Massachusetts, New England Regional Champs; Hazlet, New Jersey, Middle Atlantic Regional Champs; Fern Creek, Kentucky, Ohio Valley Regional Champs; Oviedo, Florida, Southeast Regional Champs; Mineral Area, Missouri, Midwest Plains Regional Champs; Franklin, Louisiana, Southwest Regional Champs; Othello, Washington, Pacific Northwest Regional Champs; Lodi, California, Pacific Southwest Regional Champs; Alexander City, Alabama, North Alabama State Champs and East Brewton, Alabama, Southern Alabama State Champs.

Franklin’s Sarah Sonnier broke a pair of tournament records with the Most Strikeouts in one game along with the Most Strikeouts for the tournament. Sonnier was also chosen to the All World Series team.

Babe Ruth provided transportation for the team by charter bus along with a rental car for the coaches. Players, coaches and parents were all treated to a very nice banquet along with fireworks in the opening ceremonies.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us