Florida chef wins Great American Seafood Cook-Off

Florida chef Terry White won as the 2014 Great American Seafood Cook-Off held Saturday in New Orleans, Lt. Gov. Jay Dardenne announced in news release.
White took the title with his country ham-crusted Gulf cobia with spiny lobster gyoza, caramelized baby bok choi and a Florida orange and saffron emulsion.
Coming in second place was chef Larry Delgado of Texas with his Texas Two-Step. Louisiana chef Aaron Burgau took third with his sauteed grouper, grilled Gulf shrimp, sweet corn sabayon, charred okra and smoked Creole vinaigrette.
Dardenne said, “We enjoyed hosting the 18 chefs competing for the coveted title of America’s Best Seafood Chef. Congratulations to Chef White for captivating the judges’ taste buds among such a talented field.”
Dardenne added, “Beyond naming the best seafood chef, we also get to show off the exceptional quality of Gulf seafood and encourage the competitors to feature our products in their restaurants.”
In its 11th year, the Cook-Off is is dedicated to promoting sustainable and domestic fisheries, the news release stated.
The Louisiana Seafood Promotion and Marketing Board holds the event annually in New Orleans through a grant from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
White said, “I’m honored to be in New Orleans competing against all these accomplished chefs, but I never lost confidence in my Gulf cobia.”
White, executive chef of Sage Restaurant in Tallahassee, Fla., added. “I knew if I could just get it on a plate for the judges, they would recognize the quality of the dish.”
Many states hold their own seafood cook-offs in spring and early summer to qualify chefs to compete in New Orleans. Chefs in 2014 represented Alabama, Alaska, Florida, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah and Virginia.
For the third consecutive year, organizers will join with 4-H to host a youth cook-off tomorrow. Youth competitors are required to prepare seafood dishes less than 500 calories. Teams from Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi (two teams), Oklahoma and Texas will compete.
Previous winners of the Great American Seafood Cook-Off include:
2013 – David Crews, Mississippi
2012 – Gregory Gourdet, Oregon
2011 – Jim Smith,Alabama
2010 – Dean Max, Florida
2009 – Tory McPhail, Louisiana
2008 – John Currence, Mississippi
2007 – Tim Thomas, Georgia
2006 – Justin Timineri, Florida
2005 – Randy Evans, Texas
2004 – John Besh, Louisiana

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us