Early voting starts Saturday

Early voting for this election begins Saturday, Oct. 8 and continues through Saturday, Oct. 15. Hours for early voting are 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. at both Registrar of Voters offices — the third floor of the courthouse in Franklin or at 301 Third St. in Morgan City.

Absentee voters may vote at either location regardless of their residency.

Included on the ballot in St. Mary Parish are:


—Lieutenant Governor.

—Secretary of State.

—Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry.

—Commissioner of Insurance.

—Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, District 3.

—District 21, State Senate.

—District 51, State Representative.

—St. Mary Parish Sheriff.

—St. Mary Parish President.

—St. Mary Parish Council, Districts 1, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11.

—Five constitutional amendments.

—St. Mary Parish proposition for disabled veterans homestead exemption.

—St. Mary Parish Consolidated School District 5, 11.18 mill property tax renewal for 10 years.

—Recreation District 2, 10-year, 13.34 mill property tax continuation.

—Recreation District 2, $2 million, 10-year general obligation bonds.

—Water and Sewer Commission 2, 10-year, 11-mill property tax renewal.

—Ward 5 Constable (special election for unexpired term).

—Ward 4 Justice of the Peace (special election for unexpired term).

Voters in St. Martin Parish may vote absentee Oct. 8 through 15, from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m., excluding Sunday and legal holidays at the St. Martin Parish Water District 1 building in Stephensville.

Assumption Parish voters wishing to cast an absentee ballot must appear at the parish courthouse, 4809 La. 1 in Napoleonville. Voting will be held on the same dates and times as in the other parishes.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us