Early voters cast 3,374 ballots for Oct. 22 election

Early voting for the Oct. 22 election concluded Saturday with 3,374 ballots cast in St. Mary Parish.

Parish government elections and the sheriff’s race are included on local ballots.

Three candidates are vying for the sheriff’s job after the retirement of 16-year office holder David Naquin in July.

Mark Hebert, of Franklin, former chief deputy and interim sheriff, is on the ballot with Patrick LaSalle, police chief of Patterson; George Rodriguez, a Franklin businessman; and Jack D. Smith, a Patterson businessman and former state representative.

St. Mary Parish Clerk of Court Cliff Dressel, Assessor Jarrod Longman and Coroner Francis “Chip” Metz Jr. are all reelected unopposed.

St. Mary Parish President incumbent Paul Naquin and Gary Duhon, current parish councilman for District 11, face off for the presidency in the election.

Parish Council District 2 incumbent Charles “Butch” Middleton is unopposed, as are District 4 incumbent Glen Hidalgo and District 5 incumbent Ken Singleton.

Parish races with more than one candidate are:

—Parish Council District 1: incumbent Craig Mathews, Herbert “H.B.” Bell and Lionel “Butch” Metz.

—Parish Council District 3: incumbent David Hanagriff and former councilman Peter Soprano.

—Parish Council District 6: incumbent Logan Fromenthal and Renesse A. Landry.

—Parish Council District 7: Rogers Liner and Tim Tregle.

—Parish Council District 8: Norris Crappell and Sterling Freyou.

—Parish Council District 9: incumbent Albert Foulcard and Rodney Olander.

—Parish Council District 10: incumbent Steve Bierhorst and Darian “Coach” Breaux.

—Parish Council District 11: current District 7 representative Kevin Voisin and Greg Green.

Local candidates for justice of the peace Ward 4 in the Centerville/Verdunville area are Eric J. Gaudet Jr., William W. Lanclos Jr. and Louella Mandubourg Roberson.

There are two parishwide propositions on the ballot:

—The Disabled Veterans Homestead Exemption would allow doubling the homestead exemption for a permanently disabled veteran and/or their surviving spouse. Already approved statewide, the proposition requires local passage to kick in.

—The Consolidated School District 5 proposition renews the 11.18-mill tax that funds teacher pay and benefits.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us