Delta Sigma Theta Cotillion/Beautillion to be held Saturday

The Franklin-Jeanerette Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. will host its 23rd annual cotillion/beautillion under the theme “Somewhere Over the Rainbow—Dreams Do Come True” on Saturday December 10 with formal presentations open to the public in semi-formal attire at Franklin High School beginning at 5:30 p.m. An invitation-only ball will follow at Broussard-Harris Recreation Center.

The young ladies and young men participated in various activities during their season to grow in confidence and poise while educating them in the social responsibilities/community service, social graces through cultural enrichment and social events. Their events included a “Coke Sip”, a “Meet and Greet”, a weekend retreat at Lake Fausse Point, a Presentation Breakfast at the Forest Restaurant, a talent/fashion showcase dinner and public service projects. Seminars were given on public speaking, scholarship/job interviews, self-esteem, importance of voting, the body and beyond, budgeting/credit and university life. The chapter will continue to work with the seniors in other projects that will culminate in a dinner in May of 2012 as new debutantes and beaus will begin their season. Monies collected from activity proceeds return to the community through cotillion/beautillion scholarships and awards, other local scholarships benefiting St. Mary Parish and Jeanerette students, elementary, junior high and senior high youth clubs, partnerships with CAA, Save Our Children, St. Mary Parish School Board with four adopted schools, Chez Hope, Claire House, “Yes We Can” and membership with the St. Mary Chamber of Commerce.

Reigning 2010-2011 Queen Brae’Sha White and King Jarvis Burney will crown their successors from the current group that consists of Debutantes Kiajah Foulcard, Brittney Gibson, Mar’Shayla Grogan, Bre’anna Johnson, Camry Lively, Jasmine McCoy, La’Teyana McDaniel, Tamronique Provost, Serenity Rouchon, Bria Stewart and Audriana Watson along with Beaus Avery Bell and Katyre White.

The chairperson of the event is chapter member Tamaria Hawkins with co-chairs Shalonda Johnson, Bridget Logerman-Madison, Ericka Wilson-McDaniel and Aloma Paul. The chapter president is Pearl Barnes Rack.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us