Connie Chung speaker at Nicholls induction

The Louisiana Center for Women and Government, headquartered at Nicholls State University in Thibodaux, will honor five Louisiana women for their outstanding public service on March 17 during a luncheon at the New Orleans Hilton Riverside.

The hall of fame ceremony will feature the induction of Andrea Bollinger Giardina of Thibodaux, Elizabeth Ratcliff Dent of Baton Rouge, Kathleen Mix Diamond of Metairie and Rose Hudson of Baton Rouge. In addition, a Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented Diana Bajoie of New Orleans, a former state senator.

Connie Chung, award-winning investigative reporter and anchor, will deliver the keynote address, and Eric Paulson, anchor of WWL-TV Eyewitness Morning News, will serve as master of ceremonies.

Tickets to the awards ceremony are $60 per person, or $500 for a table for 10, and include the noon luncheon and awards ceremony. A cash bar will open at 11 a.m.

In addition, a patron party honoring Chung and the hall of fame inductees is scheduled for 7-9 p.m. March 16 at the home of Russ and Sandra Herman, 625 St. Charles Ave., Penthouse D, in New Orleans. Tickets are $75 per person or $120 per couple, and cocktail attire is required.

Due to limited space, reservations for the patron party and the hall of fame luncheon must be made no later than March 14. Call 985-448-4770 to reserve seats. A credit card is required for reservations, but a check may be used for payment.

Established in 1991, the Louisiana Center for Women and Government encourages and promotes the leadership of women by providing resources and non-partisan support through educational workshops, training seminars and outreach programs. With more than 600 members from eight regions across Louisiana, the center promotes women in government and public service, acknowledges achievements of women and teaches all citizens about the importance of public service and responsible citizenship. Dr. Laura Badeaux serves as Center director.

The 2012 hall of fame committee includes chairs Diane Hollis and Caroline Fayard; honorary chairs First Lady Supriya Jindal, Sandra Thompson Herman and Sandy Rosenthall; patron party chairs state Sen. Julie Quinn, Faith Peperone and Donnell Zeringue; State Leadership Council chair Cindy Cenac; and New Orleans leadership chair Carol Short.

New Orleans Region members are Kelly Badeaux Phillips, JoAnn Bohm, Dianne Breaux, Melanie Cannatella, Renee Carrere, Nicole Ferrier, Dr. Rebekah Gee, Cheryl Georgusis, Sharon Marchand, Leslie Marsh, Jane Miller, Bethany Paulsen, Norma Jane Sabiston; Bayou Region members include Sue Aysenne, Dr. Laynie Barrilleaux, Debi Benoit, Kathy Bourgeois, Renee Brinkley, Toni Gouaux, Dr. Marilyn Kilgen, Lucinda Martinez, LaQuita Meek, Elaine Musso, Dale Norred and Renee Piper.

For additional information, call 985-448-4770 or go to

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us