SWAC names Joseph, Walker, Harris players of year

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (AP) — Southern quarterback Dray Joseph and Alcorn State running back Arnold Walker are Southwestern Athletic Conference co-offensive players of the year while Arkansas-Pine Bluff linebacker Jer-ryan Harris claimed top defensive honors.

The league released its all-conference teams on Friday, as chosen by SWAC coaches and sports information directors.

Alabama State linebacker Kourtney Berry is newcomer of the year while Jackson State defensive lineman Javancy Jones was chosen as the top freshman.

Alcorn State and Alabama State led the way with 10 All-SWAC selections apiece and both had five first-teamers.

Joseph led the SWAC with 3,236 passing yards and 27 touchdowns.

Walker was the league's top rusher with 1,191 yards and 16 touchdowns.

Harris had a SWAC-best 107 tackles for Arkansas-Pine Bluff. He ranks sixth in the FCS in tackles.

A list of the All-Southwestern Athletic Conference teams and winners as chosen by league coaches and sports information directors:

Co-Offensive Player of the Year: Dray Joseph (Southern), Arnold Walker (Alcorn State)

Defensive Player of the Year: Jer-ryan Harris (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)

Newcomer of the Year: Kourtney Berry (Alabama State)

Freshman of the Year: Javancy Jones (Jackson State)




QB - Dray Joseph (Southern)

RB - Isaiah Crowell (Alabama State)

RB - Arnold Walker (Alcorn State)

OL - Issac Sampson (Alcorn State)

OL - Dillon Bonnet (Prairie View A&M)

OL - Edmond Davis (Alabama State)

OL - Jordan Arthur (Jackson State)

OL - Johnathan Smith (Jackson State)

WR - DeAndre Cooper (Prairie View A&M)

WR - Lee Doss (Southern)

TE - Johnathan Dorsey (Alabama A&M)


DL - Derrick Billups - (Alabama State)

DL - Amir Bloom (Texas Southern)

DL - Javancy Jones (Jackson State)

DL - Robert Simpson (Mississippi Valley State)

LB - Jer-ryan Harris (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)

LB - Kourtney Berry (Alabama State)

LB - Robert Nelson (Alabama A&M)

DB - Qua Cox (Jackson State)

DB - Avery Boykin (Mississippi Valley State)

DB - Brandon Thomas (Texas Southern)

DB - C.J. Morgan (Alcorn State)

K - Haiden McCraney (Alcorn State)

P - Bobby Wenzig (Alabama State)

RS - Tavoris Doss (Alcorn State)




QB - Jerry Lovelocke (Prairie View A&M)

RB - Barrington Scott (Alabama A&M)

RB - Courtney Brown (Prairie View A&M)

OL - Derrick Jead (Jackson State)

OL - Jonathan Scott (Alcorn State)

OL - Anthony Mosley (Southern)

OL - Robert Roquemore (Alabama State)

OL - Detonio Dade (Alcorn State)

WR - Zach Pendleton (Jackson State)

WR - Montarius Smith (Alabama A&M)

TE - Jordan Payne (Alcorn State)


DL - Deion Roberson (Alcorn State)

DL - Carlton Jones (Alabama State)

DL - Tedderick Terrell (Jackson State)

DL - Edward Mosley (Alabama State)

LB - Raheem Cardwell (Prairie View A&M)

LB - Jerome Howard (Prairie View A&M)

LB - Steve Orisakwe (Grambling State)

DB - Lawrence Barnett (Alabama A&M)

DB - Derrick Harris (Alabama A&M)

DB - Devon Francois (Alcorn State)

DB - Cameron Loeffler (Jackson State)

K - Bobby Wenzig (Alabama State)

P - Cory Carter (Texas Southern)

RS - Myles Everett (Alabama State)

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us