Chesapeake's Haynesville Shale project wins award

BATON ROUGE — The Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission, or IOGCC, awarded Chesapeake Energy’s Haynesville Shale project the Chairman’s Stewardship Award at IOGCC’s annual meeting in Buffalo, N.Y., on Monday.

IOGCC Chairman Terry Adamson presented the award to Chesapeake, winner of the Large Company category, saying the project is an outstanding example of what the award represents.

Louisiana Department of Natural Resources Secretary Scott Angelle commended Chesapeake for being a leader in its field and operating in an environmentally sound manner.

“Chesapeake’s presence in the Haynesville Shale has boosted the economy of northwest Louisiana, and it is evident by Chesapeake’s stewardship that they understand the crucial balance of energy, the economy and the environment,” Angelle said in a news release.

This award recognizes a company that demonstrates innovative and positive environmental stewardship.

Chesapeake was nominated for the award by the DNR Office of Conservation. The Office of Conservation noted that Chesapeake had implemented a number of best management practices in the Haynesville Shale to help ensure energy development in an environmentally responsible manner.

La. Commissioner of Conservation James Welsh, a long-standing member of IOGCC participating in the annual meeting this week, said the award shows the commitment of a company determined to limit its environmental footprint. He said that Chesapeake is the largest leaseholder, largest producer and most active driller of new wells in the state’s Haynesville natural gas play.

“The Chairman’s Stewardship Awards illustrate how a commitment to excellence and the community leads to success,” Welsh said in a news release.

IOGCC is headquartered in Oklahoma City, Okla., and serves as a multi-state government agency promoting the conservation and efficient recovery of the nation’s domestic oil and natural gas resources. It has a 75-year history of collectively representing oil and gas producing states.

To learn more about IOGCC and its Chairman’s Stewardship Awards, visit

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us