Charpentier is Co-MVP; Thomas, co-coach of the year

From Staff Reports

Berwick High School led the local contingent of representatives on the All-District 9-3A baseball squad as the Panthers placed five players on the first team, including the co-MVP and co-coach of the year.

Berwick pitcher Chris Charpentier was named co-MVP along with North Vermilion’s Colby Roy, while BHS coach Mike Thomas, who led his team to a tie for the district championship with North Vermilion, was named co-District Coach of the Year along with North Vermilion’s Jeremy Trahan.

Berwick’s other first-team representatives included sophomore pitcher Nick Duthu, outfielders Nick Osburn and Trey Williams and utility selection Reed Leonard.

Patterson also placed three players on the first team, shortstop Spencer Landry, outfielder Jaydrick DeClouet and utility selection Dallas Hamlett.

Charpentier, a senior, was named co-MVP after recording a 3-1 record with a 3.85 ERA.

Duthu recorded a 4-1 record in district with a 2.34 ERA, while Osburn, a junior who stepped in as a replacement during an injury-riddled season for the Panthers, made the top squad after batting .533 in district with 14 RBIs.

Williams, a senior, also made the first team in the outfield after batting .352 with five home runs and 16 RBIs.

Leonard, a junior, was a utility selection after batting .382 with a home run and 11 RBIs.

Patterson’s Landry, a sophomore, made the squad after batting .395 with eight RBIs, while DeClouet, a senior who will be given a shot to play baseball at Louisiana Tech where he already has signed to play football, hit .386 with eight RBIs. Hamlett, a junior, was a utility selection after batting .432 with nine RBIs.

Thomas and Trahan both led their squads to 10-2 district marks.

Roy, the co-MVP, finished his senior season on the mound with a 4-1 record and a 1.40 ERA.

Berwick had four second team selections. Seniors Matt Skelton (first base) and Lee Rhodes (utility), junior Anthony Richard (third base) and sophomore Brooks Richard (second base) made the squad.

Patterson had three second-team selections, including seniors Cameron Clements (pitcher) and Ryan Wade (catcher) and junior Cameron Fontenot (pitcher).

Berwick and Patterson each had one honorable mention selection. The Panthers’ Bobby Boudreaux made the squad, while Patterson’s Bryce Tabor was selected.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us