CCHS softball team is honored at ceremony

Staff Report

MORGAN CITY — The Central Catholic softball team was honored during its annual

awards ceremony at the school Wednesday.

The squad finished its season with a 25-7 mark, including an 8-0 district season to capture the District 8-1A title.

The Lady Eagles advanced to the state softball tournament in Sulphur where they fell to eventual state runner-up Archbishop Hannan 1-0 in nine innings.

Each member of the team received a plaque, and Russo handed out certificates to those who led the team in various statistical categories.

Below is a recap of the honors:

Academic All-State Composite: Abbie Bergeron and Caroline Byrne

Academic All-District 8-1A: Amanda Barron, Hailee Thomas, Celine Flores, Bergeron, Byrne, Elizabeth Garber, Kimberly Russo, Olivia Crawford, Paige Thomas, Brandi Landry, Bridgette Swan, Megan Landry, Jena Teachman, Brittany Longman, Kaitlyn Gros, Alli Comeaux, Jordan Morvant, Rebecca David, Hallie Autin and Emma Aucoin.

All-District 8-1A: Barron (first-team, third base), Flores (first-team second base),

Bergeron (second-team first base), Byrne (first team outfield), Garber (second-team

catcher), Russo (first-team shortstop), Olivia Crawford (second-team outfield), Swan (first-team designated player), Megan Landry (Most Valuable Player and first-team pitcher) and Longman (first-team outfield).

Coaches Award: Garber

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us