BHS takes XC district title; locals take top 2 spots

Staff Report

ERATH Berwick’s boys’ cross-country team won the District 9-3A cross country championship Nov. 5, while Berwick sophomore Neal Theriot Jr. won the individual title.

Theriot crossed the finish line in the three-mile course in 18:32, just ahead of second-place finisher Jonathan Jeffcoat of Patterson, who was clocked at 18:42.

Theriot and Jeffcoat, along with Berwick’s Austin Doise and Cameron Perera, made the All-District team after finishing in the top 10.

Doise finished ninth with a time of 20:22, while Perera finished 10th at 20:23.

Other Berwick competitors included Andre Adams, 14th, 21:23; Jason Cavalier, 15th, 21:30; Chad Vinning, 18th, 21:41; Ryan Davidson, 28th, 25 minutes; and Jeremy Orgeron, 32:20.

The field had to battle drizzling rain and ankle deep mud at times during the race.

All seven schools in the district were represented at the meet runners.

The Lady Panthers’ lone runner at the district meet, Claire Parsiola, made All-District after finishing eighth in the girls’ competition with a time of 25:28.

The team is coached by Camille Izaguirre and Jai Daigle.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us