Berwick Lady Panthers place five on first team

From Staff Reports

Berwick High School placed five members of its softball squad on the first-team All-District 9-3A squad.

Berwick’s Abigail Ohlin made the squad at shortstop, Hayley Girard made the top team as an outfield selection and Megan Fegenbush made the squad as a pitcher. Berwick added two more selection as utility team members, Amber Girard and Elizabeth Hover.

Kaplan senior Brittany LeBeouf, who batted .594, was named District MVP, while Kaplan coach Shay Herpin and North Vermillion skipper Richard Prejean were named District Co-Coach of the Year. Kaplan and North Vermilion finished the season as District Co-Champs with identical 11-1 records.

Ohlin, a junior, finished her district season with a .324 batting average, while H. Girard, also a junior, finished district with a .353 batting average.

Fegenbush, a senior, finished district with a 7-5 record, while fellow senior, A. Girard, finished the district season with a .514 batting average. Hover, a junior, batted .359 in district.

Patterson placed six on the second team, while Berwick added three.

Patterson’s Rebecca Taylor made the squad at catcher, while Caitlyn Fontenot was a selection at shortstop. Madi Morris made the team as an outfielder, while Carissa Fontenot, Jordon Aucoin and Rachel Easly all made the squad as utility selections.

Berwick’s second team selections included first baseman Megan Fabre and utility selections Celeste Bowers and Alexis Kates.

Taylor, a junior, batted .300 in district, while juniors Caitlyn Fontenot and Morris batted .459 and .259, respectively. Carissa Fontenot, a junior, finished district with a .382 batting average. Aucoin and Easly, both sophomores, finished their district seasons with .300 and .296 batting averages, respectively.

Fabre, Bowers and Kates, all juniors, finished district with batting averages of .346, .250 and .185, respectively.

Berwick added four honorable mention selections, Olivia Gilbert, Maddie Gray, Maria Trevino and Abby Bergeron. Patterson’s Carli McIntyre and Arianna Ross both were also selected.

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us