Berwick celebrates athletic successes

From Staff Reports

Berwick High School coaches distributed awards in multiple sports during its annual spring athletic awards banquet on Tuesday.

Awards were given out in baseball, softball, track, girls’ and boys’ basketball, boys’ and girls’ bowling, boys’ and girls’ golf, boys’ and girls’ tennis (Division III state champions), boys’ and girls’ track and field, and the school’s Top Cats dance team.

Matt Skelton and Abigail Ohlin were awarded the school’s male and female Athletes of the Year, which is voted on by the schools’ coaches. This is the second consecutive year Ohlin has won the award.

Skelton and Megan Fegenbush also won a Berwick athletic scholarship, valued at $500 apiece.

Also, school officials honored 18 athletes in 14 sports who made either the Class 3A Academic All-State squad with a GPA of 3.5 or better and those who made the Academic All-State Composite team (all classifications) by maintaining a 4.0 GPA.

The Class 3A selections were Lindell Adams (swimming and tennis), McKenzie Beasley (track), Abby Bergeron (softball and volleyball), Adria Bergeron (volleyball), Anastasia Bergeron (bowling), Tim Billiot (football), Fegenbush (softball and volleyball), Tyler LaCoste (tennis), Brad Lemoine (football), Bryce Mayon (cross country and track), Morgan Mitchell (volleyball and tennis), Anne Lee Parsiola (cross country and tennis), Lee Rhodes (football and baseball), Samantha Robicheaux (tennis), Skelton (football and baseball), Shelby Spinella (volleyball), Zachary Theriot (golf) and Hailey Wilkinson (basketball).

Composite winners were: Anastasia Bergeron, Fegenbush, LaCoste, Mayon, Mitchell, Parsiola and Wilkinson.

Below is a recap of the award winners:


—Pitching Award: Nick Duthu

—Best Hitter: Chris Charpentier

—Panther Pride: Skelton

—Coaches Award: Rhodes

—Most Improved: Bobby Boudreaux and Brooks Richard

—Team Player Award: Anthony Richard and Nicholas Osburn

—Captain Award: Charpentier

—District 9-3A Co-MVP: Charpentier

—First-team All-District 9-3A: Duthu (pitcher), Charpentier (pitcher), Osburn (outfield), Trey Williams (outfield), Reed Leonard (utility).

—Second-team All-District: Skelton (first base), B. Richard (second base), A. Richard (third base), Rhodes (utility)

—Honorable mention All-District: Boudreaux

—Academic All-District: Charpentier, Skelton and Rhodes


—Team Captain: Ab. Bergeron

—Academic All-District: Fegenbush and Ab. Bergeron

—First-team All-District 9-3A: Fegenbush (pitcher), Ohlin (shortstop), Hayley Girard (outfield), Amber Girard (utility), Elizabeth Hover (utility),

Track and Field


—Most Outstanding Field (jumps): Austin Gray

—Most Outstanding Field (throws): Beasley and Josh Engleton

—Most Outstanding Track (sprinter): Josiah Gier

—Most Outstanding Track (distance): Mayon

—Most Improved: Chet Adydan

—Panther Pride: Jason Cavalier, Chad Vining and Mayon

—MVP: Mayon

—District 9-3A Academic All-District: Beasley and Mayon.


—Most Outstanding Field (jumps): Khadijah Johnson.

—Most Outstanding Field (throws): Anastasia Bergeron

—Most Outstanding Track (sprinter): Olivia Gilbert

—Most Outstanding Track (distance): Signe Parsiola and Gilbert

—Most Improved: Kennedy Sampey and Karlie Matherne

—Panther Pride: Anastasia Bergeron

—MVP: Johnson

—District Champion (triple jump): Johnson

—State Qualifier: Sampey

—District 9-3A Academic All-District: Anastasia Bergeron, Mitchell and Michaela Balli.

Girls’ Basketball

—Offensive MVP: Ohlin

—Defensive MVP: Johnson

—Panther Pride: H. Girard

—Coaches Award: A. Girard

—Leadership Award: Wilkinson

Boys’ Basketball

—Most Improved: Brandon Naverro

—Panther Pride: Chaz Russo

—Coaches Award: Osburn

—Coaches Award: Devin Tabor



—MVP: Devon Quick

—Panther Pride: Landon Gregory

—Coaches Award: Paul Reed

—Most Improved: Mark Powell

—Captain: Quick

—High Average: Reed

—First-team All-District: Quick


—MVP: Elle Arcemont

—Panther Pride: Kourtney Kennedy

—Coaches Award: Adria Bergeron

—Most Improved: Mikayla Allen

—Captain: Kennedy

—High Average: Arcemont

—First-team All-District: Arcemont and Kennedy


—MVP: Lemoine

—Panther Pride: Bethany Loupe

—State qualifier: Loupe



—MVP: Mayon

—Most Improved: Andre Adams

—Panther Pride: Dustin Girard

—Coaches Award: LaCoste


—MVP: A. Parsiola

—Most Improved: Signe Parsiola

—Panther Pride: Mitchell

—Coaches Award: Mitchell

Top Cats

—Senior Awards: Alexandra Chellette and Brooke Roy

St. Mary Now & Franklin Banner-Tribune

Franklin Banner-Tribune
P.O. Box 566, Franklin, LA 70538
Phone: 337-828-3706
Fax: 337-828-2874

Morgan City Daily Review
P.O. Box 948, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone: 985-384-8370
Fax: 985-384-4255

Follow Us